sponsors points media fans contact

Ruhlman Dominates Law Memorial, Max Blair Captures First Super Late Model Win at MCR!

East Smethport, PA (June 6, 2014) Ninety eight race cars filled the pits at McKean County Raceway on a rare Friday night event.  The weekly RUSH Crate Late Models raced for over $2000 in the Bill Law Memorial.  Chad Ruhlman continued his dominance in the weekly crate action winning his fourth of the  year and taking home the $1000 prize and another $1000 in lap money.  Max Blair of Centervile, PA won his first ever super late model feature at MCR by holding off his father on a last lap restart.  Dan Davies, Kurt Babock, Ted Mascho won their first of the year while, Jason Dobson won his second of the  year.  The complete program was completed in just over 3 hours.

The RUSH Crate Late Model feature saw  Jason Genco and Chad Ruhlman on the front row.  Ruhlman took the lead on the start over Genco and Bobby Rohrer.  By lap five, defending track champion Max Blair was up to fifth behind 15 year old Wyatt Scott.  Lap eleven would see contact between Genco and a lap car resulting in Wyatt Scott getting turned around in turn three to bring out the yellow.  The new running order was still Ruhlman, Genco, Rohrer, Blair and last weeks winner, Damien Bidwell.  Blair would start to make his charge to the top three as he would dispose Rohrer on lap 13 with Bidwell following.  With ten go go, Ruhlman was in charge out front with Blair contesting Genco for second.  Blair would get around Genco on lap 16 with car #16 Dereck Frank sitting in sixth behind Rohrer.  A series of cautions waved around lap 18 and 19 including a red flag.   Once racing go back going, Genco retook the runnerup spot from Blair as Rohrer got by Bidwell for fourth.  As the checkers flew from starter Curtis Peters, Ruhlman streaked across the line around $2000 richer with Genco, Blair, Rohrer and Bidwell rounding out the top five. Jeremy Wonderling came home sixth followed by Doug Ricotta, Ward Schell, Bob Kish and Dave Shagla in tenth.  The very happy winner re-donated the winner trophy and ceremony winner check back to the very surprising and appreciative Law family.

The super late models saw earlier season winner Chris Hackett and NDRL national driver, Max Blair on the front row.  Blair shot into the lead over Hackett and Greg Oakes.  Last week’s winner and defending series champion Rob Blair quickly moved up to fourth by lap five and got passed Oakes for third on lap six.  Point leader David Scott entered the top  five on lap eight.  At the halfway point, Rob Blair got by Hackett for second and saw himself a full straightaway behind his son Max.  The elder Blair would slowly chip away at his sons big lead as Max was contesting with lap traffic.  As the final laps chipped away, Rob Blair closed in within a few car lengths and as the father son duo  crossed the stripe for the white flag,

Rob would slip by his son Max coming out of turn two to take the lead only to see the yellow lights flashing for the Devin Lewis spin in turn three in front of the oncoming leaders.   On the restart, Max charged into the lead as his father and Hackett ran door to door.   Hackett would slide high allow Rob Blair to get away to watch his son Max take the checkers.   Greg Oakes and Brent Rhebergen both got around Hackett to come home third and fourth. 

The Highway Auto Stock Cars  have put on some great races this  year and the fifth different winner found victory lane Friday night.  Ted Mascho of Hinsdale lost the race last week on the final lap made sure this week he found victory lane.  Mascho took the lead on the start over Vaughn Nytrom.  Eric Harvey moved into second lap three to give chase to Mascho with Rich Wojtowicz in third.  With five to go, the top three still remained the same with point leader Kurt Stebbins in fourth and Gary Fisher in fifth.  Fisher would  make his charge to third on lap thirteen with the hard charging Jason Dobson coming as well.   At the checkers it was Mascho becoming the fifth different winner over Harvey fisher, Wojtowicz  and Dobson.

Butch Southwell and Dan Davies led the 20 lap, Close Racing Supply Modified division.  Southwell shot into the lead but only to see Davies go around Southwell on lap second.  Two time winner, John Woodward Jr took third from Rich Michael Jr on lap five.  Michael would slide back to fifth one lap later as Brent Rhebergen took the fourth position away from the driver of the #17x.   The race of the event was for second between Southwell and Woodward as Davies was in a different zip code with a half track lead.  Woodward would make a last lap pass on the outside around Southwell to grab second with Davies easily collecting the win.  Southwell came home third with Rhebergen and Michael rounding out the top five.

Kurt Babcock of Shinglehouse finally cracked victory lane after being the bridesmaid twice this  year.  Babcock would lead the entire 15 lap event.  CJ Irons chased Babcock till Brandon Buchanan took the second spot on lap three from his sixth starting spot. Larry Mitchell Sr was up to fourth from his eight place starting spot.  Mitchell would chase after Irons for third but saw the checkers fall behind race winner Babcock, Buchanan, CJ Irons with Mitchell and Dave Lowe Jr coming home a fantastic fifth.

Jason Dobson dominated the Pure Stock feature leading all 15 laps for his second win of the year.  Art Peterson chased after Dobson but would get into a battle for second with point leader, Roger Schweikart and Moose Reed.  Schweikart would take second from Peterson with four to go.  Reed would get around Peterson with two to go.  At the checkers it was Dobson in a dominating performance over Schweikart, Reed, Peterson and RJ Pistner collecting his first top five of the year.

RUSH CRATE LATE MODEL FEATURE: CHAD RUHLMAN, Jason Genco, Max Blair, Bob Rohrer, Damien Bidwell, Jeremy Wonderling, Doug Ricotta Ward Schell, Bob Kish, Dave Shagla, Wyatt Scott, Justin Smith, Mike Robinson, John Haggerty, Paul Grigsby, Scott Fitch, Steve Watson, Matt Harvey, Dereck Frank, Garrett Mott, Dustin Waters, Bill Mesler, Scott Waters, Craig Dean, Brad Mesler

SUPER LATE MODELS: MAX BLAIR, Rob Blair Greg Oakes, Brent Rhebergen, Chris Hackett, Dick Barton, Doug Eck, Jason Dupont, Bob Dorman, Dave Norton Jr, Michael Oakes, Devin Lewis, David Scott, Joe Layfield.

HIGHWAY AUTO STOCK: TED MASCHO, Gary Fisher, Rich Wojtowicz, Jason Dobson, Jeremy Williams, Dennis Asel, Kurt Stebbins Vaughn Nystrom, Randy Taylor, Butch Talbot, Stanley Davis, Brad Curran Jr., Ryan Snyder, Victor Earle (DNS), Eric Harvey (DQ)

CLOSE RACING SUPPLY MODIFIEDS: DAN DAVIES, John Woodward Jr, Butch Southwell, Brent Rhebergen Rich Michael, Vic Vena, John Boardman, Steve Dixon, Nathan Hill, Randy Hall, Al Brewer, Darren Tarabori, Adam Peterson, Joe Boylan, Carl Ballinger

MINI STOCKS: KURT BABCOCK, Brandon Buchanan, CJ Irons, Larry Mitchell Sr., Dave Lowe Jr., Mitch Boylan, Lyndsey Carlson, Thomas Cupp, Michael Rotunda, Aaron Bartas, Jacob Andrews, Matthew Burrell, Eric Canfield, Lee Brown, Travis Babcock (DNS) Matt Bryant (DNS)

PURE STOCKS: JASON DOBSON, Roger Schweikart, Moose Reed, Art Peterson, RJ Pistner, Joe Layfield, Don Williams Dennis Cummings, Cliff Easto, Jeff Johnson Jr., Robert Murray, Tim Burkett, Rod Winans (DNS), Fred Ely (DNS)

For more information on the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway please visit www.mckeancountyraceway.com.  

Like the National Dirt Racing League and the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway on Facebook at
www.facebook.com/NationalDirtRacingLeague or www.facebook.com/NDRLMckeanCountyRaceway and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.

schedule drivers sponsors points rules tickets fans contact