sponsors points media fans contact

Bill Law Memorial On Tap for Crate Late Models at MCR on Friday Night!

East Smethport, PA (June 4, 2014) The National Dirt Racing League’s McKean County Raceway will race on a rare FRIDAY night this week due to the fairgrounds being  used during the weekend.   This Friday night the RUSH Crate Late Models will be gunning for a cool a minimum $1000 to win in the Bill Law Memorial.  A complete program for the other weekly five divisions will be in action as well with a 7:30pm start time.

Bill Law spearheaded the crate late model concept in 2006 and saw it become reality in 2007.  Law a former super late model car owner saw the need for the crate motors in the dirt late model ranks to allow the lower budgeted teams to continue to race competitively.  Law lost his battle with cancer in the fall of 2012 but his legacy is remembered by seeing the crate late model class grow from his one car to a nearly 30 car weekly average at MCR!

The RUSH Crate late models will compete in a 25 lap $1000 plus to win Bill Law Memorial, presented by Andrews Auto Salvage.  Chad Ruhlman of Bemis Point is the current point leader at MCR, but last week’s winner Damien Bidwell will be looking to make it two for two.  Bidwell has a two point lead over Bobby Rohrer of Waterford for the second place in points.  Dave Shagla, Ward Schell, Bob Kish, Scott Waters, Brad Mesler, Mike Knight and 15 year old Wyatt Scott will all be looking for their first win of the year.  A star studded field is expected for the Bill Law Memorial.

David Scott of Garland sits on top of the super late model point chase and still looking for his first win of the season.   Chris Hackett of Jamestown sits 8 points back of Slowride.  Greg Oakes of Franklinville has had two weekends of solid runs sits 2 points behind Hackett in third with Brent Rhebergen and Bob Dorman rounding out the top five in the super late model points. 

The Close Racing Supply Modifieds see Randy Hall still on top by eight points over John Woodward Jr.  Both drivers have two wins on the season. Vic Vena sits third in points some six points behind Woodward.  John Boardman and Michael McGee of Mayville round out the top five.

Kurt Stebbins of Wellsville has an eight point lead over Rick Wotjowicz in the Highway Auto Stock Cars. 

Ted Mascho of Hinsdale sits two points ahead of opening night winner Dennis Asel with Gary Fisher of North East in fifth. There has been only one repeat winner in the stock car division.

Last week’s winner Roger Schweikart of Austin has a six point lead over Joe Layfield.  Cliff Easton and Donnie Williams are tied for third in points with Dennis Cummings of Wellsville is in fifth in the points in the highly entertaining pure stock division. 

Three time winner, Mitch Boylan has a 20 point lead over Holden Heinemann.  Kurt Babcock sits comfortably in third over North East, PA driver, Thomas Cupp and Lewis Run’s, Dave Lowe Jr.  The mini stock class has had close to a full field of cars the last few weeks.

Race fans are reminded that races are FRIDAY night this week and will start at 7:30PM.  Gates open at 5pm with the pits opening at 4:30pm.  All Allegany (NY) county residents will receive $1 off general admission price on Friday night.  Adult tickets are $12, Sr Citizen $10, children 11-17 are $6 with the family pack being $35.  Pit Passes are $25 for Saturday night.

For more information on the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway please visit www.mckeancountyraceway.com.  

Like the National Dirt Racing League and the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway on Facebook at
www.facebook.com/NationalDirtRacingLeague or www.facebook.com/NDRLMckeanCountyRaceway and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.

schedule drivers sponsors points rules tickets fans contact